Fabric love

I’ve had to make a few tough choices in the last couple of days…. ie.. I put in an order each with Fabric.com and Hawthorne Threads, and had to choose fabric!! As we are in Tbilisi, Georgia, I had to limit the amount of fabric I chose as otherwise the cost of postage would have been more than the fabric itself!!

As I’m trying to challenge myself to some different sewing projects, I ordered some cotton voile, as well as a couple of knit fabrics, and the usual cottons for making a few baby items. I haven’t seen any of the gorgeous designer fabrics for sale over here in Georgia, I think they may get a lot of fabrics from Turkey, and honestly I don’t think that people here would pay the prices that fabrics are sold for in the USA/ Australia!

So after ordering some fabrics online and praying it arrives intact and in a very very fast manner, I sewed up some new strap covers for Bubba’s pram (as I only have fire engine or john deere fabric left in my stash at the moment!!)… then decided to head out to Lilo Market today. Lilo Market is the main / biggest marketplace here in Tbilisi, it is around 20-30 minutes drive, and has EVERYTHING you need. By everything, I mean it has a massive textiles section, clothing, kitchen/household goods, furniture, kids & baby goods, and hardware… Many of the textiles / fabric stalls have sheeting and curtain materials, but there are just as many, if not more stalls with every kind of cotton, lace, knit, voile, lawn & lining fabrics, plus more. And the best part about the market is that you can BARGAIN the price on the fabric. WHATTTT????? Bargain for fabric!? They also jack up the prices a bit when the shopowners realise you can’t speak Georgian, so I try and just speak in Georgian – so the conversation is basically:

Me: “Hello, how much?”

Shop owner: “7 Lari”

Me: “No, 5 Lari per metre”

Shop owner: “6 Lari”

Me: “Ok,ok ”

Thats all I have so was pretty impressed with myself for managing to bargain in Georgian!! 🙂

So I ‘only’ got 10m of fabric and paid around $3-4/m each. I got a few lovely fabrics which I think are a voile/lawn as they are a little sheer, a solid blue & white dot fabric which I am planning on making into the April Rhodes Staple Dress.

Fabric Stalls at Lilo Market in Tbilisi, Georgia

Fabric Stalls at Lilo Market in Tbilisi, Georgia

image

Fabric stalls at Lilo Market, Tbilisi

There are about 6 times as many stalls as you see in these pictures above…

Fabrics from Lilo Market

Fabrics from Lilo Market

My next project is to find a printer to buy as we don’t have one yet, and therefore can’t download/print any patterns!! I have so many that I can’t wait to try, especially with these gorgeous prints I bought today – I think I’ll start a blouse top tonight by using one of mine as an outline, so stay posted!

Jac x

 

2 thoughts on “Fabric love

  1. I can’t believe I never made it to Lilo in my two years here, and now we are leaving. Looks like a great haul! Thanks for your comment on my blog. I have found twin needles at a fabric store in Marjanishvili Square (it is located diagonally across the square from the McDonald’s), however, they only have regular twin needles, not stretch or ballpoint twin needles. I order those online. I haven’t seen a walking foot but I also haven’t looked for one. Good luck!

    Like

    • Oh Lilo is an experience all right!! Reminds me of Bangkok night markets in some ways!?
      Thanks for the tip on the needles.. All of the yarn stores at Baratashvili underpass have machine needles but not the twin, ballpoint /stretch. Looks like I’ll add those to the online order lists to make sure I get quality ones anyway!
      Thanks, and good luck for the move x

      Like

Leave a Reply

