Pdf vs Printed

I’ve been reading a lot of sewing blogs lately, and have absolutely fallen in lust with some of the patterns that are popular at the moment… think Cambie Dress, gabriola skirt (ok EVERYTHING by Sewaholic… ) Scout Tee & Tiny Pocket Tanks (Grainline Studio), Miette Skirt (Tilly & the Buttons), Anna & Elisalex dresses (By Hand London), Bombshell Swimsuit (Closet Case Patterns)…

Oh but there are more… this is a short list and I’m sure it will keep me busy for a while!

I did head out today to try and find a printer here in Tbilisi….easier said than done… going to multiple places in a taxi and dragging along a 20 month old squirmy toddler…on a side note, I really miss ‘seatbelt straps’ in the supermarket trolley, my little monster cherub *cough cough* decides he’s had enough halfway through a weekly shop and tries to kamikaze out of the trolley, then I have to carry him while pushing around a full trolley.

I digress…

Realistically, if I wanted to pay the equivalent of $300 I could have easily gotten a basic scanner/printer at either of the 2 shops I visited, but since I paid under $100 in Australia for our last basic printer/scanner, I just felt like I was being robbed! And I don’t see the point in getting the printer without a scanner function these days, as especially living overseas, there is ALWAYS something to print, sign & scan…

Anyhow, so I got a ream of paper at the market, but came home empty handed on the printer. Boo. I had such grand plans for this evening…

I am also considering whether to order a few of the patterns in hard copies, as I actually don’t own any proper paper patterns and these Indie / Boutique designers patterns look really fancy as a printed pattern — Seriously, go onto the By Hand London website, and have a little drool at their patterns on their front page! TO. DIE. FOR.

On other TRES exciting news, my first Tbilisi bound fabric.com order should be ringing my metaphorical doorbell (as we are yet to get a doorbell…) in the next 2 hours….. EEEEEKKKKKK! I have some fabric intended for placemats and cushions (as funky homewares is a serious hole in the market in Tbilisi), some gorgeous Amy Butler lined up for a Miette Skirt (if I can just get the pattern….boooo). Pretty impressed with the cost of shipping as well – we use a freight forwarder service from USA so as long as its over $35 (uhhh of course!) I get free shipping to our USA mailbox then it was $15ish for the courier from USA – Georgia! WINNING!!

It may have to be a cushion/placemat/table runner/storage basket couple of days until I can get out of the house without the Bub and not have to worry about chasing a toddler around an electrical store while trying to talk in broken Georgian/English about printer attributes.

Ok BORING non-sewing type post today, but I was itching to post something – I will at least share some picture of some gorgeous cotton dress print that I found at the market yesterday (Think Cambie Dress!!) and a lining fabric that is going to go with one of the voiles that I bought last week – for a maxi skirt – I’m not sure how the print will go with a Gabriola Skirt, else I think I may just wing it with an elastic waist…

A printed voile and a lining fabric - possibly for a maxi skirt....!

A printed voile and a lining fabric – possibly for a maxi skirt….!

 

 

 

Pretty! I'm thinking a Cambie Dress for Summer?

Pretty! I’m thinking a Cambie Dress for Summer?

 

8 thoughts on “Pdf vs Printed

  1. I’m a massive fan of PDF patterns these days. However I never print them at home. We have a printer but when it does have ink… it quickly rubs out due to the kids. So I just drop into the copy shop!

    Like

    • Oh great idea… there are a couple of shops (by that I mean little hole in the wall shops in the underpasses….lol) that I’ve seen with big printers, I may have to check out if they can print off of a flash drive & get going on it!!

      Like

      • It’s particularly good if they do the large format printing on A0 or larger. Just make sure they don’t ‘re-size to fit’ – this was something Officeworks could not fathom so now I only use Xerox shops.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi there!
    I have just had my printer taken off me, damn my boss and needing it. I am missing it already 😦
    Could you order a printer online too?
    Tbilisi sounds interesting, I’d love to hear more about life there and how it compares to Oz 🙂

    Like

    • Hey – so I’m just writing a post about the Colette top I just made…. and telling all that I found & bought a printer! Oooooh the opportunities are endless now, have just downloaded, printed, cut out a Moneta dress pattern too, long sleeves perfect for Brissy winter in 3 weeks when I visit!!! Tbilisi is very interesting place, it wants to be more modern, and is becoming more and more so but still a lot of ‘old’ ways of doing things here as well – I’m sure i”ll mention more as I go along. Geez I blabber… Thanks for following!

      Like

Leave a Reply

