Catch-up. A Totally Non Sewing Post.

Ooops just realised how long its been….  sleep has won out over blogging most nights! 

The last month has been just cray-cray (oh seriously did I just say that?), as my toddler & I made the massive trek from Tbilisi to Brisbane (Australia) and back, by ourselves, which due to the nature of connecting (or should I say non-connecting) flights, gave us over 12hrs in Dubai both ways. 

Toddler was “not-too-bad” on the way out, and since he is still under 2 (just!!) I had booked just one ticket with him as an “infant” (on-my-lap-seat), and used my frequent flyer miles to upgrade the Dubai-Brisbane flight to business class (woooooo!). Now it so happened that the lovely lady sitting next to us moved to give us an extra seat (possibly because toddler was putting the partition between seats up and down, up and down)…. so Bubba had a seat to himself to (not) sleep in. Seriously, I got to watch ONE movie in 14hours and I didn’t sleep at all. Thats how much he didn’t sleep. ONE movie. Seriously, toddler, not cool. I did however get 2 glasses of champagne, and the time he slept was during the dinner service so I got fancy food in peace and quiet (and thats when I watched the movie..)

Had a lovely time in Brisbane, saw loads of friends, used mum’s machine to make a few little gifts for pregnant friends, and the 2.5weeks were over before we knew it, and the dreaded journey home awaited us. 

Again, was able to use points to upgrade us to Business class (thanks dad for the 6000 extra points I needed!) and once again somehow had a spare seat next to us. Bubba fell asleep straight away (thanks 9pm departure time and a flat bed seat!) and the 14hour direct flight to Dubai was looking pretty sweet…. I got in 2 movies, dinner and a glass of champagne. Then… we got diverted to Singapore with a cracked windshield (wtf??) and spend 6hours there in the lounge waiting to see how the “heck” we were going to get to Dubai… 

The lounge staff eventually got around to us, and were going to put us on the next flight from SIN-Dubai, and told me that because we were an upgrade ticket, they would be putting us in Economy class. I chucked up a stink and refused to go in economy, and they ‘managed’ to put u in Business class. Luckily, as the 2 young girls that ended up sitting next to us in Business class had been upgraded (complimentary) from Economy. Anyway, Bubba fell asleep on my lap again for the most part of the flight.

Dubai… waited at the baggage carousel for 40minutes before realising that one of my bags was definately having a holiday in Singapore. Confirmed by baggage man. Put in missing bag report …Doubtful that it would make our next (non) connecting flight to Tbilisi.

Got massively poo’d on while getting a few supplies at the massively busy Dubai mall. Gross. Got out of there in a hurry! 

Flight to Tbilisi, uneventful. Sent bubba running out through the doors to Dadda in Tbilisi Airport while I waited for missing bag to magically appear in Tbilisi. Filled out lost bag report (again) and went home and slept for 2 days straight. 

Anyway, have had hardly any time to sew since then….

I did however, begin a muslin Sewaholic Cambie dress (but in pretty scraps of fabric) this week. I did also however, measure myself a little wrong (or read the measurements on the envelope wrong) and made a size 10, where I should have made a size 6. I did try it on a few times before putting the zipper in and thought it would just be a little big. But its MA-HOOOO-SIVE! No way its wearable, I made the View A skirt without pockets, and only lined the top section as I knew it wouldn’t be a wearable dress anyway, so off to the market today to find some gorgeous fabric and make Cambie #2!

I have also started a Simplicity wrap dress in Jersey but overlocker is playing up so it’s a WIP. In saying that, need to fix Overlocker ASAP as I’ve come back from holiday, threads are broken, and something is up with the upper looper thread. The invisible sewing goblin has been at it. Grrr. 

Ok apologies for boring text post today…. stay tuned for a Cambie dress post!

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Catch-up. A Totally Non Sewing Post.

  1. I’ve been wondering what happened to you!
    Well, what an adventure you’ve been on! I’ve never taken my children on a plane… I’m not looking forward to it! You deserve a medal for putting up with all of that! Now to get back to your normal sewing life 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m seriously still recovering … And have been needing to visit fabric market to get some material which in 35degree hear has just seemed like too much effort!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

